Blogs >'s The Batter's Box

The Batter's Box provides the latest baseball news coverage of the area's top teams, prospects and happenings from around Connecticut's diamond.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Diamond Club Honorees

The Southern Connecticut Diamond Club will honor 35 area high school baseball players at its annual award banquet Sunday at Monticello’s Restaurant in Meriden.

Each player will be presented with the John Whitey Piurek “There’s No I In Team” Award. The club will also present the Samuel Burrell Jr. Coach of the Year award to North Branford coach Billy Mitchell. Also, Branford will be honored with the George Klivak Team of the Year award. North Haven coach Bob DeMayo will be honored for winning his 800th career game earlier this season.

To purchase dinner tickets ($25) or to join the Diamond Club, contact Rose Mentone at 203-281-3987 or e-mail For more information, visit

The following players will be honored: Anthony Faggiana (Amity), Alex Chosczyk (Ansonia), Joe Massey (Branford), Taylor Gamache (North Branford), Juliano Nieves (Career), Brian Sica (North Haven), Greg Leonetti (Cheshire), Matt Biondi (Notre Dame-West Haven), O’Brien Tech (Nick Ascencao), Neftali Arroyo (Wilbur Cross), Joe Ferrantelli (Old Saybrook), Adam Greenhill (Derby), Dan Mroczka (Platt), Adam Poulin (East Haven), Pete Brauer (Platt Tech), Mark Brennan (Sheehan), Alex Heimman (Fairfield Prep), Dan McCue (Shelton), Steve Polito (Foran), Austin Braumann (Guilford), Marco Gasparro (Hamden Hall), Don Pfeiffer (Hamden), Brian Heflin (Hand), Lazaro Barrios (Hillhouse), Matt Luciani (Hopkins), Will Nieves (Hyde), Max Nowicki (Law), Billy Graeb (Lyman Hall), Wyatt Stanland (Old Lyme), Nate Calini (Morgan), Steve Lockman (Xavier), Cody Forrest (Westbrook) and Jeff Hill (West Haven).


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home